Top 10 Musicals

I feel like my blog has been 100% musicals recently (sorry guys) but because sixth form work has been taking up every minute of my existence I haven’t had time to read any YA! But I’m having blogging withdrawal symptoms so am determined to post something after my extended hiatus. So naturally I decided to talk about my favourite topic, musicals! I’m always changing my opinion on which musicals are my favourites so this list could be completely different in a few weeks!

10) Hamilton

“You have married an Icarus, he has flown too close to the sun” – Burn

So if you’re in the musical fandom you’ll be aware that Hamilton has been taking Broadway by storm recently and it’s all that we thespians are talking about. I’m slowly becoming obsessed with the soundtrack and am hoping to get tickets for when it eventually transfers to London. It’s breaking the stereotypes of musical theatre, featuring a diverse cast and different styles of music (predominantly hip hop, but also jazz, rap pop and R&B) which I don’t usually listen to, and I love its originality. Plus Lin Manuel Miranda is a genius (he wrote the book, music and lyrics and stars as the titular character.)

The Schuyler Sisters

9) Matilda

“Just because you find that life’s not fair it doesn’t mean that you just have to grin and bear it” – Naughty

Matilda is such a heart-warming and entertaining musical that always puts me in a good mood. I’m forever in awe of the amazing children in the show who are half my age but with double my talent. I’ve never seen a show that filled me with as much joy as Matilda when I walked out of the theatre.

tumblr_na9zyk6v8s1sdmlmvo5_r1_250

8) Newsies

“Their mistake is they got old that is not a mistake we’ll be making, no sir we’ll stay young forever” – Watch What Happens

My obsession with Newsies seems to grow by the day.  The songs were written by Alan Menken (who wrote so many timeless Disney hits and the brilliant show Little Shop of Horrors) and he is one of my favourite composers of all time. Newsies has a brilliant story (based on the 1899 newsboy strike) and is a vast improvement on the Christian Bale film.

Newsie flip 1

7) Miss Saigon

“I’ll give you a million things I’ll never own. I’ll give you a world to conquer when you’re grown” – I’d Give My Life For You

It’s just over a year since I saw Miss Saigon on the West End, and my obsession hasn’t faded. The musical has a beautiful score and a moving story with fascinating historical context. I’m so sad the current production will be closing soon because it’s such an outstanding musical.


tumblr_n8vubo3tCt1rmdsxeo3_400

6) The Sound of Music

“Somewhere in my youth or childhood, I must have done something good” – Something Good

The Sound of Music was my first ever musical and I first watched it when I was probably five or six. I fell in love with it, dreamed of playing Liesl and forced my dad to sing all the songs with me (he would play Maria and I would play the seven Von-Trapp Children.) I am finally sixteen (Going On Seventeen) so I just need a Rolf to take care of me (but preferably not a Nazi sympathiser.)
large

5) West Side Story

“And make this endless day endless night, tonight” – Tonight

Admittedly the first time I watched West Side Story I got bored and gave up fairly early. The second time I did really enjoy it and I found it really moving, but I found some of the solos a bit boring. But last year I had a change of heart after rehearsals started with my drama group for West Side Story, I started to love it more and more each week. It has a lot of sentimental value for me, being the first musical in which I had a main role (so I’m a bit biased) I but regardless it’s a great and classic musical!

Life is all right in America

4) Rent

“Forget regret or life is yours to miss” – Another Day

I’ve been in love with Rent for a while now, but my obsession reached new heights when I saw my idol Idina Menzel from the original broadway cast as Rent (who you may know as the voice of Elsa and the original Elphaba in Wicked or from the film Enchanted) perform some of the songs live during her world tour. Rent is a rock musical about struggling artists in New York City and HIV and it has truly uplifting moments with dancing on table songs and some heart wrenching songs too.

LA VIE BOHEME 1

3) Legally Blonde

“Don’t laugh when I say love, don’t think that I’m naive. Because even a person who’s smart can listen to their heart, can listen and believe” – What You Want

I have seen ‘Legally Blonde’ countless times on YouTube, and it always leaves me with a massive grin on my face. It’s a really uplifting musical about defying stereotypes. Though it has some moving moments, most of the songs are fun and ‘Positive’ (high-five if you get my reference) and it’s so hilarious. I could sing every single song in this show in my sleep! I had the joy of playing Margot in ‘Legally Blonde’ which was so amazing and fun because I got to sing some of my favourite songs from the show and channel her amazing energy! A must-see for all fans of the Reese Witherspoon film.

tumblr_mbjsbqXhul1qh8zeso1_250

2) Les Misérables

“Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise” – Do You Hear The People Sing

I’ve also seen Les Misérables countless times, but I’m generally left with tears on my face (rather than a big grin!) Les Mis does have some happy and funny moments but it is mostly moving and when done right, never fails to move me to tears. The music in Les Mis is in my opinion some of the best out there.


tumblr_n9zj30Wqwp1rauftqo4_400

1) Heathers

“We can start and finish wars. We’re what killed the dinosaurs. We’re the asteroid that’s overdue” – Our Love Is God

It was really hard to decide my number one musical because I dearly love all the musicals in my top three. They are all so different from each other and I love them all for very different reasons.

Heathers is a musical based on the 1988 cult classic film of the same name. I came across the song ‘Candy Store’ when listening to a playlist of musicals and adored the song so much that I bought the cast album immediately (which is no surprise because the lyrics are by Laurence O’Keefe who also penned the brilliant Legally Blonde songs.) The musical is a dark comedy and has some pretty hilarious moments as well as the serious, emotive and dark moments.

candys store live the dream

 

I found this really hard because I just love so many musicals! Thanks for reading and let me know what your favourite musicals are down in the comments! If you liked this post, you might enjoy my Taylor Swift Musical Tag (an adapted version of the Taylor Swift Book Tag)! Come back next week for my next ‘Top 5 Wednesday’!

Priya ♥

Last top 5 WednesdayTop 5 Last Sentences

Next top 5 Wednesday : Coming soon

What do you think?

