Top 5 Last Sentences

I’ve really missed writing my Top 5 Wednesday posts and I often find that I don’t have enough time to write a longer post or a review because of the excessive homework I get set, so I thought I’d merge both problems and reboot my Top 5 Wednesdays…

Today for my Top 5 Wednesday post, I’ve decided to list my favourite last sentences from books. Naturally this post will have some spoilers (*cough* Mockingjay) but I’ll try my best not to give up too much of the plot

5) Only Ever Yours

As I have said time and time again, the ending to ‘Only Ever Yours‘ is brilliant and I absolutely loved it. The last sentence echoes the ending of the book (which I’m trying really hard not to spoil) and I just thought it was a really clever and interesting sentence.

“I am ready to feel nothing, forever.”

4) We Were Liars

I love the last sentence in ‘We Were Liars’ because it’s so short and powerful and the use of words is so brilliant. I really can’t say much without ruining the plot though – that was a deep ending!

“I endure.”

3) Mockingjay

‘Mockingjay’ ends in a sombre way and a lot of people really hated that, but I loved it. I don’t think dystopian novels are meant to have happy endings. However the last sentence does bring a slight feeling of a happy ending as though Katniss and Peeta will never be free from the games, they know that their children are safe.

“But there are much worse games to play.”

2) The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

The ending to ‘The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender‘ made me weep like a small child. The book is all about a girl born with wings and the image of her flying at the end of the book after facing a hell of a lot of adversity and suffering both made me very emotional and very joyous.

 “But mostly, I like to think that Jack Griffith, my father , smiled as I let go of the railing behind me and, stretching my wings to that star-studded sky, soared into the night.”

1) Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

You can’t have a post about last lines and not include the Harry Potter series. The last line of Harry Potter in the Deathly Hallows is iconic and I love it because it echoes the idea of “Happily ever after” as after all that Harry has faced, he is finally happy and free.

 “All was Well.”

Thanks for reading and let me know what your favourite last sentences are down in the comments! Come back next week for my next ‘Top 5 Wednesday’!

Priya ♥

 

Last top 5 Wednesday : Top 5 Musicals I Want to Star in

Next top 5 Wednesday : Top 10 Musicals

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Last Sentences

What do you think?

