Dorothy Must Die Stories

Dorothy Must Die Stories consists of three prequel novellas to Danielle Paige’s Dorothy Must Die (check out my review here.) There will be Dorothy Must Die (which I will now refer to as DMD) spoilers in this review. You can read this book before reading DMD as it is a prequel novella and you don’t need prior knowledge but I recommend reading DMD first as Dorothy Must Die Stories contains spoilers for the events of DMD. Here is my short but sweet review…

Dorothy StoriesLong before Amy Gumm got swept away from a Kansas trailer park…Dorothy Gale received a package on the night of her 16th birthday: a pair of red high-heeled shoes. Dear Dorothy, the note read. I thought about silver to match the ones you lost, but in the end I decided that red was more your color. I think you know what to do with them.

And with a knock of her heels, Dorothy returned to the magical land that made her a star—and Oz would never be the same again.

This bind-up of three prequel novellas to the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series follows Dorothy Gale as she transforms from good girl to Wicked Witch. Kiss the land where troubles melt like lemon drops goodbye. Here there’s danger around every corner, and magical shoes won’t be able to save you.

My favourite thing about this novella collection was that each story is written in a different view point as many novellas keep the protagonist as the voice behind the story. It was interesting to get into the heads of three new characters and to learn more details about their pasts and how they came to be the way they are in DMD.

“You can’t choose who you are. But you can choose what you’ll become.”

The first novella (No Place Like Oz) is written about Dorothy, which I expected, but the second and third novella which follow Jellia (The Witch Must Burn) and the Wizard (No Place Like Oz) were less obvious choices and were very refreshing viewpoints.

“I had gotten exactly what I had wanted, and still it wasn’t enough. I had wanted. And now I wanted more.”

I have become so immersed in the world of DMD as I read the first two instalments back to back (closely followed by these novellas.) It was fascinating to read about the character’s journeys and to find out what Oz was like before Amy arrived and how it started to decline. Novellas are such a brilliant way to do this and I’m so glad that Danielle Paige has written even more than the ones featured in this review.

“Home isn’t just where you’re born—it’s where you belong.”


10/10 for Dorothy Must Die Stories

I only hope that the next three novellas get released in paperback so my Kindle-less friends and I can continue reading them.

Priya ♥

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s