Dorothy Must Die

ADVANCED WARNING: I absolutely loved Dorothy Must Die and I,l probably spend his review trying to convince you to read it (rather than ‘reviewing’ it) as it has become one my favourite books. If you finish reading this review not wanting to pick up this book then I have failed in my duties!

Dorothy Must DieI didn’t ask for any of this. I didn’t ask to be some kind of hero.
But when your whole life gets swept up by a tornado – taking you with it – you have no choice but to go along, you know?

Sure, I’ve read the books. I’ve seen the movies. I know the song about the rainbow and the happy little bluebirds. But I never expected Oz to look like this. To be a place where Good Witches can’t be trusted, Wicked Witches may just be the good guys, and winged monkeys can be executed for acts of rebellion. There’s still a yellow brick road – but even that’s crumbling.

What happened? Dorothy.

They say she found a way to come back to Oz. They say she seized power and the power went to her head. And now no one is safe.

My name is Amy Gumm – and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

I’ve been recruited by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked.

I’ve been trained to fight.

And I have a mission.

Retellings of classic stories are probably my all time favourite types of books and I can’t think of many stories more iconic than The Wizard of Oz. The choice to write an almost sequel to such a famous story must have been a daunting prospect to Danielle Paige, especially because it has a lot of tough competition like Gregory Maguire’s ‘Wicked’, however Dorothy Must Die is brilliant and exceeded my already high expectations.

One thing I love so much about this book is that Danielle hasn’t taken the obvious route and written a sequel about another witch that the good-hearted Dorothy has to battle. The wicked witch in this story is Dorothy herself.

Dorothy is horrific and her entourage (especially the lion and the scarecrow) are utterly terrifying. I was on edge every time their names were mentioned, terrified that they would find out Amy’s intentions and that it would be game over.

“I hate to break it to you, but just because someone has pretty hair and a good skin tone and a crown instead of a pointy hat doesn’t mean she’s not the baddest bitch this side of the emerald city.”

The plot twists in this novel are shocking and completely unexpected and throughout the book I tried (and failed) to solve the many puzzles, like working out who Amy’s mysterious assistant in the palace could be.

There’s nothing I hate more than when a female character spends half of the book fawning over men and trying to pick which of her two loves to spend the rest of her life with. The novel has snippets of romance but it isn’t central to the plot and it doesn’t weaken Amy at all. She’s on a mission.

If I haven’t sold it to you already, Dorothy Must Die has a killer sequel and a great set of novellas, the first three in paperback that I have read and loved [review coming soon.]

Verdict?

10/10 for Dorothy Must Die

A flawless retelling of one of the most iconic stories. Dorothy Must Die has swiftly become one of my favourite books and series and I can’t wait for the next instalment.

“Never underestimate a girl from Kansas,”

Priya ♥

3 thoughts on “Dorothy Must Die

What do you think?

