Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

Hey guys! I’ve posted a lot of reviews recently so I thought I’d mix it up and do a book tag. I’ve been binge-watching a lot of booktube videos and I’ve seen a lot of booktubers do this tag recently so I thought I’d give it a go!

A Popular Book or series that you didn’t like.

I sat in front of the computer for an hour trying to find an answer to this question and I scoured my goodreads shelves to no avail. I realised that there aren’t any really popular books that I dislike and now I’m really worried that I’m a robot or something…

A Popular Book or series that every one else seems to hate but you love.

I used to be a pretty massive House of Night fan. I read the books in a time when I was obsessed with paranormal romance, vampires and fallen angels and thought they were amazing but by book 7 I’d given up entirely. I don’t know whether the books were dramatically declining in quality or whether I was delusional all along and didn’t realise how awful they were. Sorry P.C and Kristin Cast…

A Love Triangle where the main character ended up with the person you did NOT want them to end up with (warn ppl for spoilers) OR an OTP that you don’t like.

[Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Spoilers]

I was mostly happy with the pairings in Harry Potter. I’ve never been much of a Dramione, Harmione or Drarry fan and have always been devoted to the main pairings like Hinny and Romione, however I was sad about Neville and Luna. I’ve always been a Nuna shipper and it saddened me that Rowling paired the two off with seemingly random characters (Hannah and Rolf) that Neville and Luna have never had romantic (or even notable) interactions with.

A popular book Genre that you hardly reach for.

I’m really not a fan of romance and contemporary novels and contemporary romance are the worst. There are some exceptions that I adore like Stephanie Perkins’ ‘Anna and the French Kiss’ series, Jennifer E. Smith and of course all John Green books but mostly I try to stay as far away as possible from those genres. I read for escapism and I love to be transported into new worlds (whether that be fantasy, historical or dystopian) and for that reason books set in the ‘real world’ don’t excite me as much.

A popular or beloved character that you do not like.

When I read Divergent and Insurgent I really disliked Tris Prior, in fact I hated her with a passion. To this day I still don’t know what put me off her but something really irritated and annoyed me about Tris. Tris redeemed herself in Allegiant and I really loved her in it and again I don’t know what she did to win my affection. Alas it is a mystery.

A popular author that you can’t seem to get into.

I’m sad to say this and I’m sure that if my friend Sofia is reading this she’ll drive over to my house and smack me with her hardback copy of Fangirl, but I’d have to say Rainbow Rowell. Now don’t get me wrong I did enjoy reading Fangirl and meeting Rainbow was an incredible experience, but I just can’t seem to get into any of her books. I’ve picked up Eleanor and Park many times and despite the raving reviews I’ve heard and the fact that many of my close friends adore that book, I just find it really slow (and I’ve had the same problem with Landline too.)

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing. (examples “lost princess”, corrupt ruler, love triangles, etc.)

I’m definitely sick of reading about love triangles. The absolute worst part about them is that they’re always the same. Boy/girl has two possible choices, one who comes from their home-town that they have grown up with, have everything in common with and are perfect for and the other who comes from a distant land, who they think is arrogant at first and have nothing in common with but always eventually wins their heart and gets the boy/girl. It is so tired and lazy and really irritates me. It happens in some of my all time favourite book series too, just think of the potential for greatness ruined by that dreadful trope.

A popular series that you have no interest in reading.

I don’t know whether they count as a series, but I have no interest whatsoever in reading Sarah Dessen books. I’ve heard brilliant things about them from friends but something has always put me off her books, whether it is my dislike of contemporary and romance novels or a mysterious other factor.

The saying goes “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or T.V. show adaptation do you prefer more than the book?

Probably the  Lord of the Rings trilogy. I read the books and really enjoyed them but I found them a challenging read as though Tolkien’s writing is fantastic, it is very descriptive and I drifted off a couple of times when reading before bed. I also think the books translate beautifully to movies and some scenes (especially the battles) have more power and presence on the big screen than they do on paper.

 

So thanks for reading and let me know whether you agree with me in the comments. I tag everyone reading this who has a blog because this tag was super fun!

Priya ♥

3 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Book Tag

What do you think?

