Every Day

Every Day

A heads up before you start reading the review. A is genderless and I really wanted to get the pronouns right so I’m sorry if the review feels a bit awkward and disjointed as I swap from he/she to his/her (or he for in the days A was in the body of a man.)

Every day I am someone else. I am myself – I know I am myself – but I am also someone else. It has always been like this.

Each morning, A wakes up in a different body. There’s never any warning about who it will be, but A is used to that. Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere. And that’s fine – until A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply.

When I bought my copy of Every Day, it was because I was fascinated by the concept. The protagonist wakes up in a different body everyday and I can’t imagine what life must be like. A doesn’t have a real identity, his/her face and voice are unrecognisable as they change daily and A’s characteristics and personality are inhibited by the body they are stuck in. However David Levithan miraculously is able to make A an individual and a real person, despite A’s situation.

The main plot of the story follows A’s romantic arc with Rhiannon and the hurdles they face for example when he wakes up hours away from her or he wakes up in the body of a girl (much to Rhiannon’s suprise) however some of the most interesting chapters don’t focus on the central storyline. Throughout the novel A wakes up in different bodies and therefore deals with being different shapes and sizes, in different degrees of health and happiness, as different sexualities and being in different situations. It was fascinating to realise how much your physical body can affect you and your mental state and I tip my hat to the genius of David Levithan for exploring all of these different possible bodies for A.

This book has one of those Marmite endings. It doesn’t have a definite solution or a clear happily ever after, but I like the occasional book being vague and it worked for this novel perfectly.

The one main flaw with this novel is at the heart of the central plot. A spends a single day with Rhiannon before deciding he is in love with her and devoting his life to finding her and having a relationship. David Levithan wrote Rhiannon very believably and it took a while for her to get her head around A’s situation. However what I found a bit unrealistic is the whole love at first sight falling in love in a day issue. I’ve gotten used to it because it happens in pretty much every YA book these days but it was pretty cliché and unrealistic.

Verdict?

8/10 for Every Day

A brilliant concept executed very cleverly. The only flaw was the clichéd love at first sight issue

Priya ♥

What do you think?

