Top 5 Worst Book To Movie Adaptations

Today I’ve decided to make a list of 5 books that were so much better than their movie adaptations. I think the vast majority of books are better than their films, but the five films featured in this list didn’t really do their books justice.

5) The Harry Potter films

Now don’t get me wrong, there are some amazing moments in the Harry Potter films and so many things were captured perfectly. The cast is perfect and the sets and props are so intricate and elaborate and I was so impressed when I went to the Studio Tour for the first time (check out my post on my second visit) but so many things were missed out from the books. I understand that they cant include every detail but they left out so many brilliant things like Harry’s sass, Ginny’s spunk and S.P.E.W.

“This is your copy of Advanced Potion-Making, is it, Potter?”
“Yes,” said Harry, still breathing hard.
“You’re quite sure of that, are you, Potter?”
“Yes,” said Harry, with a touch more defiance.
“This is the copy of Advanced Potion-Making that you purchased from Flourish and Blotts?”
“Yes,” said Harry firmly.
“Then why,” asked Snape, “does it have the name ‘Roonil Wazlib’ written inside the front cover?”
Harry’s heart missed a beat. “That’s my nickname,” he said.”

4) City of Bones

I didn’t completely hate this film and really loved parts of it. I loved the costumes and the sets and some of the scenes were just awesome (but some not so much… I’m talking to you awkward greenhouse scene.)  I really didn’t like the casting; The cast are are really talented but they just didn’t fit the characters. My main problem with this film was the ending because they changed a lot from the books and it was just really weird and awful. I’m glad that ‘City of Ashes’ has been scrapped and I hope that the new TV series will do the books justice.

3) A Series of Unfortunate Events

This adaptation enraged me as it tried to cram the first three books into one film and therefore important moments from the book were left out and the plot had to be altered a lot. However the reason that this film isn’t at the bottom of the list is that I loved the costumes and the sets and they fit the way I imagined the book. Plus Sunny was absolutely adorable!

2) I am Number Four

I had high hopes for this film because I really loved the first book in the series. It wasn’t good, it wasn’t bad, it was just meh… and what the hell was up with the mogadorians? They just looked weird! However the one redeeming quality of the film was that Dianna Agron played Sarah and I think she was perfect for the part.

Merthur agree with me

Merthur agree with me… meh

1) Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief

The two Percy Jackson films were terrible and even the author, Rick Riordan agrees. They weren’t awful films, they were just awful adaptations! They changed the plot almost completely, ignored crucial details in the books and ruined a beloved book series. I am not amused.

tumblr_n8z7sjqspY1tqrp63o8_1280

Thanks for reading and let me know which book to movie adaptations were the worst down in the comments! Come back next week for my next ‘Top 5 Wednesday’!

Priya ♥

 

Last top 5 Wednesday : Top 5 Bookish Fandoms

Next top 5 Wednesday : Coming Soon (Top 5 Fictional Schools)

One thought on “Top 5 Worst Book To Movie Adaptations

What do you think?

