Top 5 Childhood Reads

So one of my new years resolutions was to blog more frequently, so I’ve decided to do a top 5 Wednesday every week this year! I’m determined to persevere!

For my first top 5 Wednesday I’m talking about my favourite childhood reads! I’ve been a bookworm for my entire life and I’ve had a ton of reading phases and these are the five books/ book series I loved most when I was younger! They’ve all been my number one favourite book at one point.

5) ‘The Dragonfly Pool’ by Eva Ibbotson

My favourite thing about Eva Ibbotson books was that they whisked me away on adventures all across the globe and I got to explore so many real and fictitious places. ‘The Dragonfly Pool’ is set in Bergania (a fictional kingdom) and I just remember loving the descriptions!

4) ‘Secrets’ by Jacqueline Wilson

At one point I went through a pretty big Jacqueline Wilson phase that spanned over a few years and ‘Secrets’ was my favourite (closely followed by ‘How to Survive Summer Camp’) of the 29 books I read. The story is about Treasure who goes to live with her Nan after her step-dad hits her with a belt. She meets a girl called Kitty who keeps a diary inspired by Anne Frank and Treasure hides in Kitty’s attic, inspired by how Anne hid in her annex. I just really adored this book and would read it over and over again!

3) ‘Lexi’ by L.S Matthews

‘Lexi’ is all about a girl who wakes up in the forest with no idea of who she is and she tries to piece together her memories. One thing I loved about this book was the elements of fantasy, like the Blue Lady and the Scarlet Prince that Lexi learns about in the shelter. This book has some pretty epic plot twists and surprises too and no matter how many times I re-read the book, I never got bored of the story!

2) ‘The Mysterious Benedict Society’ Series by Trenton Lee Stewart

So ‘The Mysterious Benedict Society’ starts with a boy called Reynie Muldoon going to take a test for gifted children. Soon he is joined by Kate, Sticky and Constance and they set off on a pretty epic adventure to bring down Mr Curtain (the evil twin of Mr Benedict, who formed the society!) Okay admittedly my description makes it sound very babyish and lame but these books are seriously amazing and completely unique! I actually really want to reread them soon because I loved them so much and they were pretty mature for kids books!

1) The Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling

The Harry Potter series are definitely my favourite childhood books, but I love them even more as a teen and suspect that I’ll continue to adore them throughout my life! I think my love for Harry Potter grows by the day and I don’t think it will ever stop!

 

Like I said, I had so many reading phases in my childhood so I’m going to shout out a few more books that didn’t quite make the cut:

  • ‘The Magic Faraway Tree’ by Enid Blyton
  • The Rainbow Magic series by Daisy Meadows
  • ‘The Austere Academy’ by Lemony Snicket
  • ‘Hetty Feather’ by Jacqueline Wilson

And so many more!

Thanks for reading and let me know what your favourite childhood books were down in the comments! Come back next week for my next ‘Top 5 Wednesday’!

Priya ♥

 Next top 5 Wednesday : Top 5 Disney Princesses

 

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/874/60396056/files/2015/01/img_1152.jpg

You can tell how much love these books have gotten by the state of their spines! I’m not exaggerating when I say that I read them over and over and over again!

 

One thought on “Top 5 Childhood Reads

What do you think?

