Cinder

Hey everyone and a belated Happy New Year! It’s time for my first book review of the year, ‘Cinder’ by Marissa Meyer!

Cinder

 
Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the centre of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

 

Everyone loves fairytales and ‘Cinder’ is loosely based on the story of Cinderella. It has all of the iconic things that make up Cinderella (a horrible stepmother and a cruel stepsister, a ball and a swoon-worthy prince) but there are some pretty big twists, and I absolutely love a twisted fairytale (hence my obsessions with things like Once Upon a Time.) I love the way that Marissa Meyer took a story I already knew and loved and made me love it even more!

“She was a cyborg, and she would never go to a ball.”

I’m not normally a sci-fi fan so the idea of androids and cyborgs admittedly put me off this book, but these elements were weaved so effectively into the story that I felt used to them. I surprisingly grew to like the technological sides to the book and I particularly liked reading about how society doesn’t accept cyborgs and thinks they are lesser beings and it felt so relatable (even though we don’t have robots wandering around in this day and age!

“I don’t know. I don’t actually remember anything from before the surgery.”

His eyebrows rose, his blue eyes sucking in all the light of the room. “The cybernetic opetation?”

“No, the sex change.”

The doctor’s smile faltered.

“I’m joking.”

Admittedly I found this book very predictable and I think Marissa Meyer gives the reader too many clues, so some of the shocking revelations in this book had a lesser effect on me. Nevertheless I still really enjoyed the story and the predictability didn’t stop me from falling in love with this series! In fact it made me happy because I usually fail at guessing the plot!

There was just so much going on in that book! Struggles with family, freedom, royalty and government and the plague and all sorts and DAMN IT WAS JUST SO GOOD!

I wouldn’t give this book a full five stars because I think the next books in the series have the potential to be even better (‘Scarlet’ certainly was!) but I’d probably give it 4.5 stars because it was pretty amazing!

PurpleStarPurpleStarPurpleStarFotor0319195658PurpleStar

Priya ♥

One thought on “Cinder

What do you think?

