Christmas Countdown 6 – Hogwarts in the Snow

So yesterday I visited the Harry Potter Studio Tour for the second time. Around Christmastime, the model of Hogwarts is covered in fake snow and there are new special Christmas additions to the tour, so I was very excited to go. It was absolutely amazing and I loved every second of it!

IMG_3465

 

So the model of Hogwarts was already breathtaking, but covered in snow it was even more stunning! I felt really emotional looking at the model because it’s so magical and Hogwarts is really my home!

IMG_3361Because it’s almost Christmas, the Great Hall was decorated to look like the Christmas feast in the first film. There was an abundance of food to gawk at (all made of resin) and beautiful Christmas decorations. There were also Christmas puddings that were set alight, which was pretty awesome! The Burrow was also decorated for Christmas which was a joy to witness because Weasley Christmases seem so happy and homely!

 

rsz_img_3469Because it was my second time, I spent more time reading information and looking at little details than just staring at everything in awe and squealing in fangirlish delight with my friends (though admittedly I did do some of that yesterday anyway!) Because of this I found a lot of little things that I thought were amazing! Like the little snowman pictured the right. I had to zoom a lot with the camera to take this because the snowman was so tiny and it just shows how much detail is put into all of the sets and exhibits! Even the dorm was decorated for christmas with tinsel and christmas cards!

 

IMG_3400There were so many other little things I spotted, from a bottle of Skele-Gro, to a Cheeri Owls cereal box in the Burrow to things from Bellatrix’s Gringotts vault!  I can’t even begin to imagine how much time was put into designing and perfecting little things that only make incredibly brief appearances on screen. I peered into the back of Dumbledore’s office (that I’m pretty sure is never seen in the films) and found a room decorated in incredible detail. I’m just amazed!

 

IMG_3391There were a few new activities this time and I got to learn about how they make fake snow and fake fire. I even attempted to learn how to duel with my friend though sadly we didn’t get any pictures of that!

 

I also finally tasted Butterbeer, which I unfortunately didn’t like, but at least I have a souvenir cup so I can remember the experience!

As well as all of the new things, I was glad to see some of my favorite things again. I was relieved to see that Neville’s sexy cardigan (from the Deathly Hallows part 2) was still there so I could stare lovingly at it some more. I had fun again in the green screen section and took lots of pictures outside! 


I had a truly amazing day and I’ll hopefully visit the studios again in the future! 

“No story lives unless someone wants to listen.

The stories we love best do live in us forever.

So whether you come back by page or by the big screen,

Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.”

Priya x

5 thoughts on “Christmas Countdown 6 – Hogwarts in the Snow

  1. Hello,

    You’re writing you got to learn how they made fake snow and fake fire. The picture you used to show fake fire really interest me, as I’m looking to incorporate fake fire in a costume. Do you think you could tell me what you learned?

    Thank you very much!

    Like

  2. Hi there Im really interested to learn how to create faux fire? Could you spare a few minutes explaining how you did it? And is that image of the actual fake fire? Thanks!!

    Like

    • Hi! I’m really sorry but I can’t help with faux fire advice, it’s over 2 years since I wrote this post and it was a very quick demonisation! But yes the picture is of the fake fire. Hope you can find the info you’re looking for :)

      Like

What do you think?

