Christmas Countdown 5 – The Christmas Song Book Tag

1. “You’re a Mean One Mr. Grinch”

Name a villainous character you couldn’t help but love.

For this I just have to pick Bellatrix Lestrange from the Harry Potter series. Admittedly, I was overjoyed at her death because she is a truly horrendous human being and I will never forget what she did in the Deathly Hallows, but there’s a part of her that I think all Harry Potter fans really love! She’s quirky, probably insane and I love her!

2. “All I Want for Christmas is You”

Which book do you most hope to see under your Christmas tree?

I already talked about this a bit in my day 1 post, but I’d really love to get a copy of ‘Cinder‘ by Marissa Meyer. I’ve always loved fairy tales and my Once Upon a Time obsession has reminded me that fairy tales aren’t just for little children! I’m excited to read this book as it’s a twist on the classic story, Cinderella as in this book, Cinder is a cyborg.

3. “Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer”

Name a character that overcomes major obstacles and learns to believe in themselves.

I’ve been talking about Neville Longbottom a lot in my Christmas Countdown posts, but he is the clear choice for this category! There’s that heartwarming moment in the first book where he gets 10 points for standing up to Harry, Ron and Hermione. Then of course in The Deathly Hallows there’s that wonderful moment where he stands up to Voldemort wearing a beautiful cardigan :P

“It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to your enemies, but a great deal more to stand up to your friends.”

4. “Santa Claus is Coming to Town”

a) Which character do you think would be on the top of the naughty list?

Out of the books I’ve read this year, I have to pick Marcus Eaton from the Divergent series because he is just a terrible human being! In ‘Four‘, there’s a scene where he does some horrible things that were described in the ‘Divergent’ series and I was so angry at him and wanted to throw the book at the wall!

b) Which character do you think would be at the top of the nice list?

I’ll have to pick Prince Maxon from ‘The One‘ even though we saw a less forgiving side to him in this book! He’s just so sweet and kind and I wish he’d pick me to be his queen! Check out my review here

5. “Frosty the Snowman”

Which book just melts your heart.

This is difficult as most of the books I read tend to crush my heart rather than melting it! I’d have to pick Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone because there are so many quotes and moments from that book that turn my heart to mush:

“Me!” said Hermione. “Books! And cleverness! There are more important things – friendship and bravery…”

6. “Feliz Navidad”

Choose a book that takes place in a country other than your own.

This should be easy seen as a large portion of the books I read are set in America or different dystopian worlds! I’m going to pick ‘City of Bones‘ for this because it’s set in New York, and I’m in love with New York! I started reading this series just days after I returned from my holiday in NYC so I recognised most of the locations and that was something new for me!

7. “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year”

Which holiday themed book do you use to spread the Christmas joy?

Well last year I started reading ‘Let it Snow‘ by Maureen Johnson, John Green and Lauren Myracle. John and Maureen’s stories were great and helped me to get into the Christmas mood, but Lauren’s story was just so boring that I couldn’t finish the book!

8. “Sleigh Ride”

Which fictional character would you choose to spend the holidays with (doesn’t have to be a love interest!)

I’d choose to spend my holidays with Ron, because then I’d bet to have a wonderful Weasley family Christmas! They all have so much fun together as a family and I’d love to get my own Weasley jumper! I got a lovely hand knitted one last Christmas that I’m very grateful for! Check out my post on Potter here

9. “Baby it’s Cold Outside”

Which book that you didn’t like would you sacrifice to a fire to warm yourself up in the cold?

I would burn ‘Emma‘ by Jane Austen and I wouldn’t look back! I know it’s a classic and blah blah blah but NOTHING HAPPENS IN THAT BOOK! Admittedly my hatred may be partially because I had to read it for school, but still….

10. “Do you hear what I hear”

Which book do you think everyone should read?

I know I go on about it too much, but I think everyone should read ‘Only Ever Yours‘ by Louise O’Neill! I’m just so obsessed with this book and I think it’s so unique, clever and FANTABULOUS! :D If you’re looking for last minute Christmas presents, you should definitely get this! Check out my review here

I hope you enjoyed me answers and feel free to answer the questions yourself in the comments! I’m not going to tag anyone in particular because It’s very close to Christmas now (EEP!)

 

Priya x

What do you think?

