Christmas Countdown 2 – 2014 Top Ten

Today for my Christmas Countdown post, I’m making a list of my top ten books from 2014.  I’m only including books that were published/released in the UK this year! So here we go!

10) Four

I really loved Veronica Roth’s ‘Divergent’ series but I’ve never been a big fan of the protagonist, Tris. I was so excited when I heard she was releasing a book of short stories from the perspective of Four. Four is pretty quiet about his past in the books so it was really fascinating to be able to explore his history and to understand him as a character!

9) The Queen of the Tearling

So as you go down my list, you’ll notice that I’m a sucker for books about royalty (whether Historical or dystopian) and that is one of the main reasons I picked up ‘The Queen of the Tearling.’ Okay, admittedly this book lacks character development, but I was so engrossed by the story that I barely noticed this and I couldn’t bear to put it down! Read my review here

8) The Jewel

The Jewel was a real delight to read this year! It’s set in a dystopian future where royalty are no longer able to reproduce, so they buy girls, or ‘surrogates’, at auctions. Violet Lasting is a surrogate and the book follows her story and what happens to her after the auction, I found this concept so exciting yet so frightening! That ending though… Read my review here

7) Isla and the Happily Ever After

I absolutely adored Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins and I fell swiftly in love with Étienne St Clair. When reading the next book, Lola and the Boy Next Door, I absolutely adored the main character, Lola and her quirky fashions. So naturally, I had high hopes for ‘Isla and the Happily Ever After’ and it did not disappoint. This book had a swoon-worthy romance, yet also felt a lot more serious and complex than the other books, which I really liked. Plus I got to see the gang (Anna, Étienne, Lola, Cricket, Isla and Max) reunite at the end which just filled me with happiness!

6) The Assassin’s Blade

I love Sarah J Maas’ ‘Throne of Glass’ series, and this year she released a collection of novellas set before the first book, called ‘The Assassin’s Blade’. Celeana Sardothien is just such an amazingly strong and fascinating character that it was a pleasure to learn more about her. Also this book has one of the most beautiful covers I’ve ever seen, it’s stunning!

5) The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

I don’t quite know what I liked about this book! It was tragic but hauntingly beautiful and it really evoked a lot of emotion in me. It’s a peculiar book and nothing like what I’d normally choose to read, but I really adored it! Read my review here

4) The One

The Selection Series is probably my favourite trilogy, and the final book (The One) is definitely my favourite of them all. Many of the characters really developed in this book and I got another chance to see Maxerica (my beautiful ship) blossom! Plus Kiera Cass released a bonus epilogue to this book that made me cry tears of joy because it was just so beautiful! Read my review here

3) Panic

I love Lauren Oliver and I love her ‘Delirium’ series, so I was pretty certain that I’d enjoy Panic. I loved this book and it’s so different from the usual stuff I read (fantasy, dystopian and historical!) The book is about a competition where people face their fears and do some pretty terrifying and dangerous things to win a massive money prize. All of the challenges made my heart race, but there was once scene in this book where the characters faced my worst fear (I don’t want to spoil the book but it’s linked to that horrible time when I was hit by a car) and this part of the book was so powerful and affecting! Read my interview with the author, Lauren Oliver here

2) The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks

So this book is by E.Lockhart, author of the popular 2014 book, ‘We Were Liars’. Now ‘We Were Liars’ was amazing but I think that ‘The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks’ beats it by a mile. It’s all about a girl called Frankie who orchestrates a ton of pranks at her school and manipulates members of the school’s secret society. This book was utterly hilarious but also emotive and really thought provoking!

1) Only Ever Yours

So if you’re no stranger to my blog, you’ll know that I have a pretty huge obsession with Louise O’Neill’s debut novel, Only Ever Yours! This book came out on my birthday but I was lucky to get a proof copy of it and read it early. It left a such lasting impression on me and I’ve tried to persuade everyone I know to read it. I can’t wait to read more of Louise’s work! Read my review here

Priya x

What do you think?

