The Maze Runner

So I read the Maze Runner roughly a month ago for the YA Birmingham Bookclub (that you should all check out if you live nearby!) I really enjoyed it and hope to continue with the series some time in the future.

tumblr_static_maze_runner_classic

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

So the Maze Runner starts with the protagonist, Thomas, waking up in a lift with no recollection of how he got there. When the lift opens he is surrounded by boys who have all suffered the same fate. Throughout the book, Thomas searches for a way out and a way to escape the gigantic maze that surrounds the camp. I loved this book and found it dynamic and action packed. I was hooked from the first page and was constantly coming up with my own ideas of how the boys could escape the maze (that were all pretty terrible!)

The Maze Runner isn’t a perfect novel! One of its main flaws is the lack of character development; most characters are very one dimensional and predictable! However when reading the book, I wasn’t even aware of this because I was so engrossed in the action and the mystery of the maze! I only recognised these flaws when I looked over the book again to write my review! Therefore, I don’t think the lack of character development causes a big problem, but I worry that it will affect the rest of the series! I really don’t want to read three more books with boring and one dimensional characters!

However despite the lack of connection I felt with most characters, I really empathised and connected with Thomas! If you don’t already know, the book starts with Thomas waking up in a lift with no recollection of how he got there and no memories. Therefore the reader is in the dark too and finds out new information when Thomas does! This really helped me relate to him, despite the fact that he isn’t a very complex character.

My favourite scene in the book which I really don’t want to spoil (the one with the collar and the solemn teens if you’ve read the book) that I found incredibly moving. The image of that scene stuck with me for several days and I kept wondering what I would do in that situation!

Another thing I loved about this novel was the lack of romance. Now don’t get me wrong, I do love to read about love, but YA dystopian books all seem to have the same hero and heroine love triangle nowadays! The maze runner definitely felt unique because of this and it was very refreshing to read a different type of dystopian novel!

There were points in this book where the characters were being so stupid and I just wanted to bang their heads together, but overall I really enjoyed this book and I would definitely recommended it to YA and dystopia fans! I also liked the film adaptation! Lots of changes were made from the book, but they were understandable as they helped the book translate better into a film. Seeing the maze come to life was amazing!

Priya x

 

 

One thought on “The Maze Runner

What do you think?

