#ThisBookshop

So Bookbridgr are hosting a competition where you have to blog about your favourite bookshop and of course, I have to talk about YA Birmingham over at the Birmingham High Street Waterstones branch!

So I’ve always been an avid reader and the 3rd floor of my local Waterstones (where the teen and children’s books are) has always been one of my favourite places to be. But my true undying love for the shop began on the 23rd of August…

Let me set the scene… I’m on holiday in New York, eating lunch in Bloomingdales (FAN-CAY) when I get a message from my friend Sofia inviting me to a City of Bones fanparty at Waterstones. I hadn’t read the books yet but it sounded like a really fun idea (especially when the tickets cost only £1 and there is free food!) so excitedly said yes! When I got back to England, I borrowed all five books from Sofia and quickly sped through a chunk of the series. I got a costume ready (deciding to dress up as the awesome Izzy) and even spent hours painting a skipping rope gold to replicate her golden whip. I bought Shadowhunter rune tattoos with Sofia and when we were finally ready, we headed off to the party with Asmaa and her sister and Sofia’s sister!

An onlooker might have thought that we weren’t having an amazing time. We hardly spoke to anyone (though we talked to a couple of nice people) and felt incredibly shy, but it was so amazing to be in a room full of people with the same interests as me! The party itself was brilliant! Awesome goodie bags, a buy one get one half price sale on all books (which I definitely took advantage of!), yummy shadowhunter themed food, a very challenging quiz with great prizes, a costume contest and a raffle (that I was lucky to win a huge poster in!) I left the party feeling over the moon and desperately hoping another opportunity would come along!

23rd August 2013: Some of the Shadowhunters (and a few Warlocks) who came to the City of Bones fanparty!

23rd August 2013: Some of the Shadowhunters (and a few Warlocks) who came to the City of Bones fanparty!

Since that day, I’ve had many great opportunities all thanks to Bex and Gem at YA Birmingham! To name a few:

  • A Divergent fan party in April 2014
  • A chance to have my book review featured on their blog (check it out here)
  • A few proof copies of books to review
  • A City of Heavenly Fire release party in May
  • A The Fault in Our Stars fanparty in June 2014 (where my team finally triumphed and won the quiz, each getting a t-shirt, signed poster and lots more Check out my post on it here)
  • A Rainbow Rowell signing at another branch of Waterstones (where I was a runner up in a competition and got to meet Rainbow before the signing. Check out my post on it here)
  • A David Levithan signing in August
  • A Lauren Oliver signing in August (where I had one of the best moments of my life as I got to interview her for my blog. Check out the interview here)
  • Regular bookclub meetings (offering a chance to discuss my feels with others)
  • A Maze Runner fanparty in October 2014
Meeting Rainbow Rowell with Eleanor, Sofia and Ambi

Meeting Rainbow Rowell with Eleanor, Sofia and Ambi

Having fun at the Divergent fanparty

Having fun at the Divergent fanparty

So I went to the Maze Runner Party last Saturday and had an amazing time yet again! I won a lot of awesome goodies and we really enjoyed the quiz! But when I started editing this post, I really thought hard about how much I’ve changed in the short space of 14 months, and I owe a lot of it to this amazing bookshop :D I’m so much more confident, I have a much greater passion for books and most importantly, I’m so proud to be a bookworm now and I really couldn’t care less if people think that I’m boring or a geek because of it :D So thank you to Bex and Gem! You not only throw the best parties ever, you’re also great booksellers and lovely people :D

So if you kept reading until the end, thanks for being awesome :D I promise there will be more bookish posts and reviews soon (once I find my way out of the deep pit of homework, mocks and GCSEs!)

The amazing goodies I won at the Maze Runner fanparty

The amazing goodies I won at the Maze Runner fanparty

Follow @YABirmingham on Twitter

Visit their awesome blog

Priya x

 

What do you think?

