June wrap up

HAPPY FIRST OF JULY EVERYONE!

I’ve never done a monthly wrap-up before, but I thought I’d give it a go!

So this month I have read:

  • The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender
  • The One
  • Solitaire
  • The Witch of Salt and Storm
  • Shatter Me
  • Only Ever Yours
  • Pivot Point

 

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender

Read: June 4th – June 5th

I have often seen this book in Waterstones and was always hoping to buy it someday! I finally got a copy when my awesome friend Hadia gave me one! I was in the middle of exams when I read this book and I had a couple of days of revision time, so I decided to give it a go! This book managed to whisk me away from the stress of my exams and I fell in love with it! It’s a tragic and haunting, yet strangely beautiful story that I recommend you read! Check out my review here:

The One

Read: June 7th

As a massive fan of The Selection Series, I was incredibly excited to get my hands on The One and finally read the conclusion to a brilliant series! I raced through this book and read it in one sitting (just like The Selection and The Elite.) If you haven’t read the Selection, do it now! Check out my review here:

 

The Witch of Salt and Storm

Read: June 5th – June 8th

I was lucky to get a proof copy of The Witch of Salt and Storm (thanks to the wonderful YA Birmingham) and it will be released in September! I don’t read many fantasy books but this book reminded me on what I am missing out on! I particularly enjoyed the romantic element as this book doesn’t have a love triangle (just an attractive harpoon boy!) Check out my review here:

 

Solitaire

Read: June 8th – 9th

I had the absolute joy of reading an advanced copy of Solitaire and it was entertaining and incredibly relatable. Solitaire comes out on the 31st of July so preorder a copy as soon as you can! This is the debut novel of Alice Oseman, an incredible author (who is only 19!) and I look forward to reading more of her books in the future! Check out my review here:

 

Shatter Me

Read: June 10th – June 16th

Shatter Me is another book from my favourite genre (dystopia) and I was excited to start reading it after hearing good things from my friends! I was not disappointed by this book and whilst I found the writing style confusing at times, I was in love by the end of the book! I’m excited to finish Destroy Me (the first Novella) and then move on to the rest of the series! Check out my review here:

 

Only Ever Yours

Read: June 28th – June 29th

I have a LOT of great things to say about this book! Only Ever Yours is released on July 3rd and if you like dystopian books (especially Uglies and The Selection series) then you must add this to your collection! It’s taking me a while to write my review because I’m struggling to express my love for this book, but I’ll update this post when I do!

 

Pivot Point

Read: June 27th – July 1st

It’s probably cheating to include a book I finished in July, but I read most of it in June! I will hopefully be posting a review of Pivot Point sometime this week so stay tuned! I was gripped from the first page and had to stifle back tears in form this morning whilst reading the end of the book! I would recommend this to all dystopia fans!

 

 

So that was my month! What about you? What is the best book you’ve read this month?

What do you think?

