Why you should read ‘Solitaire’ by Alice Oseman

So ‘Solitaire’ by Alice Oseman is a new book coming out July 31st and I had the absolute joy of reading an advanced copy! I started this review over two weeks ago but it’s taking me ages as I’m struggling to explain how much I love this book! I’d definitely give it five stars and recommend it to all YA fans! Solitaire has a special place on my favourite book list! So here we go:

The Synopsis

In case you’re wondering, this is not a love story.

My name is Tori Spring. I like to sleep and I like to blog. Last year – before all that stuff with Charlie and before I had to face the harsh realities of A-Levels and university applications and the fact that one day I really will have to start talking to people – I had friends. Things were very different, I guess, but that’s all over now.

Now there’s Solitaire. And Michael Holden.

I don’t know what Solitaire are trying to do, and I don’t care about Michael Holden.

I really don’t.

 

So, why should you read solitaire? WELL…

  • You can meet the lovely author Alice Oseman at her book launch at Waterstones Birmingham High Street (YA Birmingham) on the 31st of August (Click for more details)   I’m gutted that I can’t go!                                                                                –                                                                               –                                                                                 –
  • Alice Oseman is 19 years old (yes 19!!!) and she is insanely talented!                                                                                   –
  • This book is going to be HUGE!                                                                                   –                                                                                   –
  • This is finally a YA book that really understands teenagers (as it was written by a fellow teen) and there are little references to things like PEE paragraphs and B2 that only we understand!                                                                                   –
  • Tori Spring is an epic main character. Often girls in contemporary novels are obsessed with their appearance and their lives seem to revolve around boys. However Tori was fresh and interesting and incredibly relatable! I understood Tori from the very first page.                                                                                       –                                                                               –                                                                                 –
  • The book has an element of mystery. Tori follows a post-it note trail and discovers solitaire and you will spend the book wondering who is behind Solitaire and you will excitedly wait for each new development. Even though I knew who was behind it very early on, I still found the mystery element great!                                                                               –                                                                                            –                                                            –
  • There are many little fandom references like a Drarry and Snily debate in the first few pages and some awesome Pride and Prejudice mentions too!                                                                                      –                                                                             –
  • If you go to an all girls grammar school (like me) I can guarantee that you”ll relate to a lot of the social situations                                                                                            –                                                                               –                                                                                   –                                                                                   –
  • I often struggle to read contemporary novels as I find them slow and not gripping but Solitaire hooked me from the first page and didn’t let me go until the ending!                                                                                        –                                                                           –                                                                                        –
  • This book is not all about romance! There are some great romantic elements but I’m so glad that this book doesn’t revolve around the romance (as many YA books do!)                                                                                        –            –

The last page of Solitaire pretty much sums up how I felt about this entire book. Tori talks about how you feel at the end of a film and how the pictures replay in your head and how you start asking yourselves deep questions. That is exactly what happened to me when I finished this book and I absolutely loved it!

 

This book is amazing! Just read it!

July 31st 2014! Don’t forget :P

Priya x

 

7 thoughts on “Why you should read ‘Solitaire’ by Alice Oseman

What do you think?

