Shatter Me

So Shatter Me is the first book in a trilogy (Shatter me, Unravel me, Ignite me) with two novellas (Destroy me and Fracture Me.)

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong colour.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

 

Juliette is the main character and the book is in her perspective. I didn’t really connect with her in this book. She exaggerates, a lot, and I was really confused at the start of the book as I kept on thinking she was dead or seriously injured when it was really just a case of extreme exaggeration! However I got used to Tahereh Mafi’s writing style over the course of the book.

Juliette’s “power” (her fatal touch) was a really interesting aspect of the book and I’m interested to discover where it came from and how much she can do.

Shatter Me is a dystopian book buy doesn’t follow some of the general dystopian trends! For example, most dystopian books include a pretty lengthy description of the world within the first few chapters but as Juliette had been stuck in an asylum, the reader knows the same amount that she knows, which isn’t a lot! This was really intriguing and I’m looking forward to find more about the setting in the next book!

Of course, there is a love triangle!

As I have pointed out in many posts, I’m not a fan of love triangles generally. There are very few that I actually like (such as Throne of Glass) so I’m pretty hard to please!
My Verdict so far:

I don’t really love either of the boys!

Warner is a psychopath and he needs to get out of Juliette’s life
Adam seems like a nice person but he definitely wouldn’t make my extensive list of fictional boyfriends!
But don’t let my views deter you as I hear the fandom is split between the two boys! My friend Sofia is a big Warner fan and really dislikes Adam so it could just be me!

Overall? I’d give this book about 3.75 stars. I really liked it and some aspects I absolutely loved, but it took me a while to connect with the characters!

Priya

 

The first two books: These covers are so beautiful!

The first two books: These covers are so beautiful!

 

3 thoughts on “Shatter Me

What do you think?

