Disney Princess Book Tag

Today I am going to be doing the Disney Princess Book Tag, by booktuber TurtleSympathy. Disney and books are two of my favourite things so combining them is going to be really fun!

1) Anna and Elsa ~ Choose a book with siblings in it

As an only child, The Hunger Games has taught me a lot about siblings. I get emotional every time I read (or watch Jennifer Lawrence’s stunning portrayal of) the Reaping. I hear a lot of people say that they would volunteer for their siblings if they were in the same situation, but I am unsure that anyone would be brave enough to make that decision because the odds are against you winning so you would be basically sacrificing yourself and choosing to die. The courage and love that Katniss shows in this scene are so touching and rare and are the exact reason I get angry every time people try to argue that Katniss is a dull character or that she is selfish.

2) Rapunzel ~ Choose a book that made you emotional

Of course, I have to choose The Fault in Our Stars. (Check out my review here) Everyone who has been touched by this beautiful book knows just how moving it is. I can’t even begin to describe how emotional this book was. If you have read it, you will understand.

3) Merida ~ Choose a book featuring a female warrior

This was a very hard choice as there are so many books with amazing female warriors, but I chose The Return of the King. People often complain about the lack of women in the LOTR trilogy and the Hobbit, but I believe the women in the books are all strong and independent and just as good as the men. Éowyn is a very inspirational woman and warrior, and this moment in the book is one of my favourites:

“Begone, foul dwimmerlaik, lord of carrion! Leave the dead in peace!”

A cold voice answered: ‘Come not between the Nazgûl and his prey! Or he will not slay thee in thy turn. He will bear thee away to the houses of lamentation, beyond all darkness, where thy flesh shall be devoured, and thy shrivelled mind be left naked to the Lidless Eye.”

A sword rang as it was drawn. “Do what you will; but I will hinder it, if I may.”

“Hinder me? Thou fool. No living man may hinder me!”

Then Merry heard of all sounds in that hour the strangest. It seemed that Dernhelm laughed, and the clear voice was like the ring of steel. “But no living man am I!”

4) Tiana ~ Choose a book that has realist struggles

For this, I chose a book at is not a realist novel, but portrays realist struggles in the world we live in today. I believe Noughts and Crosses tackles the issue of racism very well as well as making us all wonder what things would be like if circumstances were different. This allows the reader to have a much more sympathetic view of the other side of the racial argument as they can see what it would be like if the tables were turned. As someone who has not really been exposed to racism, this book was a key factor in teaching me about such a major issue (as well as being a very entertaining read.)

5) Belle ~ Choose a  literary book or a classic

I’m not really the biggest fan of classic literature. Although I am currently reading (and loving) many of the Sherlock Holmes series, I have not yet completed one of these books. So that leads me to a book I read last year for school and disliked (A LOT.) Emma. I believe Emma had a lot of potential to be a great book, and there were sections of the book that I really loved (such as a moment when several of the characters announced that they wished they had donkeys.) However not much really happened in the book and I personally prefer more action-centred books. Furthermore, I didn’t really like Emma. I have to connect to the protagonist when I read a book. Emma is a bildungsroman which means it is centred around the character development. In essence, Emma develops from a very annoying character to a slightly annoying character. If you are a fan of classic literature. I recommend this book for you, but I just felt like I wanted something more to happen.

6) Pocahontas ~ Choose a nature book or a book by a naturalist

Well this was extremely hard for me. Whilst I love going for walks and seeing all the nature, I don’t really read books about it. I have chosen Uglies (a really amazing dystopian series) which is the closest I can get to a nature- themed book. The protagonist (Tally) lives in a world where when you are 16, you go through an operation to become a Pretty (basically a human Barbie doll.) In order to stop being an Ugly and to get the op, Tally has to journey through the wilderness to the smoke and locate Uglies who had ran away.  It’s really fascinating to see how she first of all rejects the Smoke and the lifestyle of the people who live there (because it is so different to her own) but eventually grows to love the simplistic life that they leave and realise that she does not need to be a Pretty and to be rich and popular to live a happy life.

7) Jasmine ~ Choose a book about the desire to be free

I chose Throne of Glass. It follows the story of kick-ass heroine Celeana Sardothien, an assassin imprisoned in a work camp for her crimes. She is offered freedom by the prince. The catch, she must fight in a dangerous tournament and win to succeed in becoming the King’s Champion. Celeana is desperate to become a free woman but she soon becomes involved in something much bigger than she had anticipated. I really urge that you read this book if you have not already done so.

8) Mulan ~ Choose a book featuring war or battles

I chose Insurgent (the second book in the Divergent trilogy) as in this book, a war is brewing as the Erudite and Dauntless factions long for power and scheme to take over the world. There are many exhilarating battles in this book featuring Tris, the kick-ass protagonist and her friends. This is one of my favourite books and I seriously recommend that everyone reads it.

9) Ariel ~ Choose a book featuring curiosity or learning

The Harry Potter series (read my post on Potter) is my choice for this category. The first book, (The Philosopher’s Stone), is centred around Harry learning all about the Wizarding World but also learning many important lessons (such as the value of friendship) which in turn, are learnt by the reader. Personally, the Potter series has taught me so much and has helped me to become the person I am today.

10) Cinderella ~ Choose a book featuring manual labour

For this category, I chose Holes. When I was younger, it was one of my favourite books. It is the story of Stanley Yelnats who was walking down the street one day when a pair of shoes fell on his head. He later discovers that these are the shoes of a famous celebrity who falsely accuses him of stealing she shoes, causing Stanley to be convicted and sent to Camp Green Lake, a correctional facility where the boys are forced to dig holes every day that are five feet wide and five feet deep to build their characters. However, Stanley discovers there is much more than character building going on.

11) Aurora ~ Choose a book featuring sleep

A tricky category! The Evolution of Mara Dyer is my choice for this. (Read my friend’s awesome review on her old blog) As it is the second book in the series, I’ll try not to spoil anything. But there are some really freaky things that happen when the protagonist (Mara) goes to sleep. (You’ll understand once you read the book)

12) Snow White ~ Chose a book featuring one of the seven deadly sins

I’m going to choose The Elite from the selection trilogy. It is a dystopian novel, so it teaches us about how we should behave and also the types of behaviour we should avoid (like yearly fight to the death competitions.) (As it is the second book in the series, I’ve tried not to include spoilers but there are a few, so if you don’t want to be spoiled, skip to the next section!) It features all of the seven sins:

  • Pride ~ Celeste is a very vain and very annoying character who is obsessed
  • Envy ~ There is a lot of competition between the selected girls and they can get pretty nasty when they get jealous (like when Celeste wanted to rip off America’s dress)
  • Gluttony ~ The fact that the royal family (and generally most people in the upper castes) constantly over-indulge themselves whilst those in the lower castes barely have enough to survive
  • Lust ~ As much as I love Marlee, she’s only 17, she really shouldn’t have been caught undressing with Carter in the closet
  • Anger ~ Celeste is a pretty angry girl, but no-one is worse than King Clarkson. I hate him with a passion (just like Marcus Eaton from Divergent) not only for his harsh and cruel nature, but for the cruel ways he treats his son when he is angered
  • Greed ~ Some girls in the competition (mainly Celeste) exhibit their greed and desire for the throne throughout the book
  • Sloth ~ This is shown in the way that the Royal family does not have to do anything for themselves and have servants to assist them with everything

Also, it is a sin that America wants to be with Aspen because CLEARLY Prince Maxon is the best choice for her!

13) Megara ~ Choose a book featuring Greek mythology

I find Greek mythology fascinating which is one of the reasons I am so glad that I picked up Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief. The books are pretty awesome and just like Harry Potter, can be loved by all ages (not just children.) Percy Jackson helped me learn more about my favourite Gods and Goddesses (like Athena and Artemis) alongside Percy and they also introduced me to new stories and characters I had not previously heard of (such as Pan and Dionysus.) (I would not recommend the films as I think they are a very unfaithful adaptation of the books.)

14) Alice ~ Choose a book featuring nonsense or unusual other worlds

Land of Stories (by Chris Colfer) is set in the Land of Stories, a book which contains all the fairytales and therefore all of the stories are cleverly intertwined. I felt like I was travelling back to my childhood when I read this book and I was so immersed in the magical and unusual Land of Stories.

15) Maid Marian ~ Chose a book with a canine

I struggled to find a book with a dog as a main character, but I have chosen Legend. The female protagonist (June) has a dog called Ollie. Ollie does serve a very important role as when June loses Metias, her brother and only surviving family member.

16) Nala ~ Chose a book with a feline

The Girl Who Married a Lion by Alexander McCall Smith is collection of short stories set in Botswana. I love to re-read these every so often as they are all so entertaining and so different from what I normally read. Lions count as cats, right?

 

I tag Makayla and Sofia :)

 

Priya ♥

3 thoughts on “Disney Princess Book Tag

What do you think?

