Potter

I can’t remember the exact date that I started to read Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s stone, but I remember what happened. My dad had been trying to persuade me to read the book, but I was put off, determined to not read it because I thought it would be too scary. He recommended it to my reluctant younger self and I soon fell in love. The Harry Potter books mean SO much to me. They’re without a doubt some of my favourite books of all time. I adore the films and all the various interpretations and parodies (like the fabulous A Very Potter Musical) But why does Harry Potter hold such a special place in my heart? This review may contain a few spoilers so if you’ve been living in a cupboard under some stairs all your life and you’ve somehow evaded picking up this book, just do it. You won’t regret it! You can’t regret it! When you’ve read the books (or seen the films, though the books are better), feel free to come back here! So back to the question,

Why does Harry Potter hold such a special place in my heart?

Well firstly,

This series has taught me so much!

  • It taught me so much about morality and right and wrong which has really helped me become a kinder and better human being. It taught me that sometimes you have to turn the other cheek and not retaliate. If you mistreat someone back, you’re being just as bad as them.
  • Harry taught me the value of courage, friendship and sacrifice
  • Ron taught me that you shouldn’t determine your success on the success of your peers, you are your own person
  • Hermione taught younger me that it’s okay to be nerdy, smart and have a hunger for learning and education, no matter what anyone else says (and this has helped me to become the confident book-loving individual I am now.)
  • Neville taught me bravery isn’t always about the obvious things, like bungee-jumping or holding a massive spider. Bravery is about standing up for what you believe in and being brave enough to stand up for what is right.
  • Luna taught me that being different is nothing to be ashamed of and that we should embrace it, and that has led me to my current friends who love me for the crazy person that I am
  • Ginny taught me to be a strong and powerful girl
  • The Weasley family taught me that happiness is not measured in money or possessions
  • Snape and Draco taught me to never judge people or make assumptions about their character
  • Draco and Percy taught me that it is never too late to change
  • Dobby taught me the value of freedom
  • It taught me that finding a boyfriend is not the purpose of a story and there are much more important things
  • However equally, the relationships in the stories taught me about the beauty of love, friendship and family
  • And so much more

Mostly it has taught me to be myself and to never apologise for being me or try to change myself for the benefit of others.

It helped me escape

The magical world of Harry Potter is so vast and exciting. Whenever I felt feel down, I can always escape into the world of Harry and forget my troubles because I was so immersed in the story. I went on adventures with the characters and felt like I was a part of the trio.

It led me to a new community

I don’t have the best track record with friendships, maybe because I never really have much in common with my friends. But I started talking to a girl (now my amazing best friend) on Facebook after she posted a Harry Potter birthday scenario game (In case you were wondering I had the rather horrible scenario of “feeling up Snape because he’s sexy as hell!”) The next day we hung out and our friendship blossomed. It has been a rocky ride and quite a lot has happened to us, but we’ve managed to cling on to each other and we’ve come out of everything stronger. Thanks to her, I rediscovered my love for Harry Potter and was able to experience the joy of the books over and over again. This has also led to me finding even more amazing friends who both accept me for the crazy hyper person I am, but also share the same passions as me about learning and reading and The Harry Potter Series (along with many more of my fandoms).

I love the characters

The thing about Harry Potter, is almost all of the characters you can’t help but loving. There are the ones you love because you connect to like Hermione (because I’m a nerdy book-enthusiast) or Luna (because I have my moments of total zaniness .) There are also the characters you fall in love with, like Harry or Draco (or Neville for me ~ Neville is hot! Okay?) In a strange way, you can’t completely hate the villains no matter how truly horrible they are and you can always find a place in your heart for them too (*cough cough* Bellatrix.) Of course, then there are the characters that are generally disliked like Lavender Brown, but you can’t completely hate her (even if she temporarily stood in the way of your ship Romione) because in a way, you do feel sorry for her. (But then there is the revolting creature that is Dolores Umbridge, who you feel nothing but pure hatred for, but we’re going to ignore her because she’s not worth our time. )

It’s just an amazing series

I can not express just how far my love for Harry Potter goes, but if you’ve read all the books (or seen all the films) you’ll understand what a magical series it is. Thank you J.K Rowling. I am forever in your debt

Priya ♥

10 thoughts on “Potter

What do you think?

